przeskocz do treści | przeskocz do menu głównego
The official website of the President of the Republic of Poland
| |
A | A | A

Prof. Maciej Żylicz

Born in 1953 in Gdańsk. He studied experimental physics and biology at the University of Gdańsk. He was the Head of the Department of Molecular Biology at the International Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology in Warsaw (since 1999) and President of the Management Board of the Foundation for the Polish Science (since 1st September 2005). In 1979 he became doctor in biochemistry, he became doctor habilitatus in the field of molecular biology in 1986 and in 1992 he became professor.


Between 1980 and 1999 he worked at the University of Gdańsk, among other, at the capacity of the prorector for studies (1990-1993). Between 1993 and 1994 he worked in the USA at the Institute of Oncology at Utah University as a visiting professor. Professor Żylicz is currently dealing with molecular biology of heat shock proteins and their role in cancer transformation. He isolated the first heat shock proteins and proved their activity in DNA replication. He is an author of almost 80 experimental scientific works, widely quoted in world literature (over 5,500 quotations).


He is a full member of the Polish Academy of Sciences and a corresponding member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of Academia Europaea. Between 1997 and 2000 he was also a member of the group of the State Committee for Scientific Research and between 2001 and 2004 a chairman of the Group for Biological Sciences, Earth and Environment Protection Sciences and a member of he State Committee for Scientific Research. Chairman of the Basic Research Committee of the State Committee for Scientific Research between 2001 and 2002.


He is a member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) – between 2003 and 2007 he was also a member of its Council; American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. He was the chairman of the group for molecular, cellular and structural biology of the European Research Council (2008-2010). In September 2010 he was invited to participate in the works of a 6-person selection committee to name new members of the ERC.


He was honored, among others, with a Medal of the Commission of National Education (1998), The Foundation for the Polish Science Award (1999) and the Prime Minster's of the Republic of Poland Award for scientific achievements (2002). Honorary doctorate of the University of Wrocław (2007).

Recommend site na flickr


You are leaving the official website of Polish President

Thank you for visiting our website.

See you soon.