Narzędzia dostępności

The official website of the President of the Republic of Poland
mo tu we th fr sa su
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29

Dodatkowe narzędzia

Monday, 5 July 2010

Bronisław Komorowski wins the presidential election in Poland

The President-elect of Poland Bronisław Komorowski

On Monday, the National Electoral Commission announced that Bronisław Komorowski had been elected President of Poland, with 8,933,887 voters (53.01%) choosing this candidate, proposed by Civic Platform (Platforma Obywatelska), and 7,919,134 electors (46.99%) supporting Jarosław Kaczyński, the candidate proposed by Law and Justice (Prawo i Sprawiedliwość).


The Chairman of the National Electoral Commission, Stefan Jaworski, confirmed that the new president will receive the resolution of the NEC concerning the results of the presidential election on Tuesday, at noon, at the Royal Castle in Warsaw. The resolution will also be published in the Journal of Laws.


The NEC will also prepare a summary of the election and present it to the Supreme Court. The court will, within 30 days, issue a resolution concerning the validity of the election. The latter resolution will also be published in the Journal of Laws. As of now, the Supreme Court waits for any protests from the electors, which may be submitted up until 8th July.


The NEC’s Chairman also announced that the new president is to be sworn in before the National Assembly within 7 days of the election being deemed valid. The swearing-in ceremony will mark the beginning of a 5-year term for the new president, and according to Stefan Jaworski this date will be determined by the National Assembly.


Jaworski also stated that the election took place prematurely due to the tragic death of the former president, Lech Kaczyński, in a plane crash near Smoleńsk on 10th April 2010.



Recommend site